I MUST!

I was feeling a little melancholy tonight.  I had watched the God’s Not Dead movie with my family and after it was over my boys went and played music.  I was feeling a little lonely and wishing I had some local friends.  Not sure what to do with myself I decided to run a hot bath and soak.  I felt a drawing to read my Bible while I was there so I pulled out my nook and opened the ESV Bible I have on it and continued reading in Joshua where I have been reading lately.  It was all the divisions of land and a little boring but as I got to chapter 21 verse 45 jumped out at me.

“Not one word of all the good promises that the Lord had made to the house of Israel had failed; all came to pass.”  

Not one had failed; all came to pass.  I read this over and over and pondered what this would mean for me.

Could it be that God is reminding me that His promises will not fail?  Could it be that he was reassuring me that He is a person of His Word?

As I continued to read Joshua in chapter 24 he recounts to the people of Israel the ways that God has followed through and how He has always been with them, how He has led them to this moment.

I started thinking about the twists and turns my life has taken and all the moments that God has led me through.  Some of those moments He steered and some I have but through it all He has been there.  During the times I allowed Him to steer there were promises that He followed through on.  Promises like.. “I will never leave your or forsake you.” and “He works all things together for our good for those called according to His purpose.”

So right now as I sit in a situation that God has steered me into, am I able to trust His promises?  Can I look back and see how he provided for me in the past and really believe that He will provide for me now?  There is only one answer.

I MUST!

I must believe Him.  I must believe that His promises are true.  I must believe that He wouldn’t lead me where  He would leave me helpless and alone.  I must believe that He is telling me the truth when He says He loves me.  I must believe that when He promises to take care of me, He will.

I must believe that He would not lie.

God put the dream of Atlanta in my heart over 16 years ago for a reason and for a purpose and I must believe that as I have walked this journey that it is all leading me to this moment, to this depth of trust, to this level of obedience and to this new understanding of His love and provision.

Even as I write this my heart is full of fear and terrified of what this will mean but I must believe that God is true.  These are his promises to me;

“And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in christ Jesus.”

“I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love. With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.

“But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.  They will soar high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint.”

“And all things, whatever you shall ask in prayer, believing, you shall receive.”

I could go on and on….

In the end regardless of how tomorrow looks, or the next day, or the day after that

I MUST choose to trust Him with all of my life, anything less than all isn’t TRUST.

Standard

One thought on “I MUST!

Leave a Reply

